• Tag Archives Ragga
  • Café Preto

    Translation of part of the booklet:
    Café Preto is an album realized by musician Cannibal in partnership with DJ and producer Bruno Pedrosa and the musician PI-R. The lyrics are written by Cannibal and the programming and samples were made ​​by Pedrosa. The musical production is signed by Pedrosa and PI-R. In this work the sounds chosen by Cannibal were dub and ragga rhythms derived from Jamaican reggae roots. Café Preto has as special guests some of the most talented musicians active in Recife/Olinda: Fred Zeroquatro and Areia (mundo livre s/a), Chico Tchê, Publius, Ori, Marcelo Campello, Berna Vieira and Zé Brown, apart of the Rio based Ras Bernardo.


    “Dandara Dub” mix by Victor Rice. With Mau and DJ Bruno Pedrosa.

    Recorded live @ Copan Studio [São Paulo – Brazil] on a rainy december night.

  • Coletivo Rádio Cipó – Formigando na Calçada do Brasil

    From their website:

    “Coletivo Rádio Cipó is a media hub for the production of sound, combined with the homemade digital audio technology in the production of sound experimental research. The objective is to this production for Brazil and abroad. The core of the CRC has been producing music in this project the authors of the Master Laurentino, Ms. Onet, Master Bereco group’s own stamp Sancari and Collective Radio Cipó. Music through partnership with the community, including the popular and modern and the urban and peripheral, including among them the process of growth and expansion of free digital communication. Allied to the thinking of the community, the project Collective RC has gradually been successful in the case concerning the change in quality of life and its better relationship with its own means. The CRC held in the experimental stage, testing with the free community (with tests performed on the streets of the neighborhood’s Quarry), inserting the edge into a channel of intercommunication to produce social, cultural, sound and entertainment. Musically, we can define this project as a merging of attitudes, Brazilian rhythms and regional (hill of funk, samba, points of terraces, stamp, batucadas, etc.). Experimentations with sound of hip-hop, dub, breakbeat, jungle, ragga, rock, Jamaican reggae. The design of the core of musical production is to achieve collective interference in the regional culture with the universal language of electronic music. The Collective Cipó Radio has a responsibility as this project, the importance of culture to contemporary Brazilian music. The project unites the culture of persons from the interior of the state of Pará, unknown by the media, by the people and culture of their own half. These artists have the opportunity to RC Collective to add their experiences and contribute to their art is recreated, resulting in the production of new cultural expressions.”

    Download the album here (direct download):

    01. Cowboy sem lei
    02. Matinha do cruzeiro
    03. Foguete
    04. Majey-O terror do setor
    05. Brasil especial
    06. Me considera
    07. Homem sem baralho
    08. Planeta canal
    09. Choque elétrico piau
    10. Maresia
    11. Amor Brejeiro
    12. Paixão Cabocla
    13. Lourinha Americana versão Dub Mix


  • MOZ Songs Mixtape

    Grabbed some sound on my recent trips to Mozambique: Pandza, Ragga, Dancehall, Kwaito, Hip Hop, probably Marrabenta and other styles.


    01. MC Roger – Moçambicanas Dançam Assim
    02. DRP – Nanana
    03. Marlene – Utomi Dza Kazata
    04. Denny OG – Minha Namorada
    05. DJ Frank & DJ Tchito – Casa Comigo
    06. Manunes Jackson – Estou a Mentir
    07. Rey Anaconda – Fim Da Escravatura
    08. DJ Dabo Feat. Beat Service – Vou T Dar Aulas (Sou Barra Pah)
    09. G Short – Deixa (Master Mix)
    10. Dama do Bling feat. Lizha James – Fat Chick
    11. Team Fresh – Style So fresh
    12. Trio Fam – J’yeah
    13. DH feat. Herminio – Moçambicanas
    14. Mr. Dino – Tititi
    15. Rei Dragão – Patrão
    16. H2O – Kali Kwanga
    17. Denny Og feat. Ziqo – Terezinha
    18. Esperança Bembele – Koma Koma (Produced By Shico)

    And here are some sites to get more:
    Esta Bater
    Só Música
    Sempre 1

    PS: The picture is from a 95-m-long mural in Maputo that tells the story of their revolution.